Notre héritage

Une brève histoire d'AMG International

En 1940, un photographe de New York nommé George Georgakis a connu Jésus-Christ comme son Sauveur personnel grâce aux paroles d'un prédicateur de rue. George a immédiatement commencé à partager l'Évangile avec d'autres, en particulier ses compatriotes grecs. Avec son ami Nicholas Lambrides, il a fondé le Comité américain pour l'évangélisation de la Grèce- plus tard changé en Mission américaine auprès des Grecs, et maintenant connu sous le nom de Advancing the Ministries of the Gospel (AMG) International - en 1942. L'organisation a envoyé de la littérature évangélique à l'étranger et a fourni une aide aux enfants sous-alimentés et sans abri en Grèce. En Amérique, l'organisation a parrainé des enfants grecs dans un orphelinat voisin et a produit un magazine bilingue Gospel en grec et en anglais.

Quatre ans plus tard, l'organisation était dirigée depuis un bureau d'une pièce à New York quand ils ont invité le Dr Spiros Zodhiates à rejoindre leur ministère. Le Dr Zodhiates est venu à bord en tant que représentant sur le terrain et rédacteur en chef du magazine et est devenu président en 1966 lorsque Nicholas Lambrides est décédé. En 1949, lors de la distribution de Nouveaux Testaments sur l'île de Crète, le Dr Zodhiates a eu une expérience qui a élargi le ministère d'AMG International. Une jeune fille aux pieds nus, vêtue de haillons, a demandé au Dr Zodhiates du pain à donner à sa mère mourante et à son petit frère. Après cela, AMG International a changé sa mission pour inclure nourrir les affamés, prendre soin des enfants démunis et guérir les malades, en plus de prêcher l'Évangile.

Au fil des ans, la mission initiale de l'organisation d'atteindre les Grecs s'est élargie pour adopter une approche plus globale, d'où le changement de nom en 1974 en Advancing the Ministries of the Gospel International. À ce moment-là, AMG International s'occupait de personnes en Inde, en Indonésie, en Thaïlande et aux Philippines, en plus de la Grèce. En 1999, le ministère d'AMG International s'était étendu à environ 50 pays.

En 2005, le Dr Zodhiates a pris sa retraite et Paul Jenks est devenu président d'AMG International après avoir été PDG depuis 1996. En 2013, Paul et son épouse, Lois, sont retournés dans le domaine de la mission, où Paul continue de soutenir AMG International dans le rôle de vice-président of Asian Outreach.

Aujourd'hui, dirigé par Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis, AMG International est à la recherche de nouvelles opportunités passionnantes pour un ministère axé sur l'Évangile et qui change la vie à l'ère numérique. Nous cherchons à rencontrer les gens là où ils en ont le plus besoin, que ce soit la faim, la maladie ou le désespoir. Nous désirons les diriger vers Jésus comme la seule réponse aux problèmes de la vie et le seul espoir pour la vie éternelle. Pour ce faire, nous nous associons à des chrétiens qui partagent cette passion et leur donnent l'opportunité de partager leur trésor avec ceux qui ont des besoins physiques et spirituels.

Dr Spiros Zodhiates

Spiros Zodhiates (1922-2009) est né de parents grecs sur l'île de Chypre et a passé du temps en Égypte et au Soudan pendant que son père déplaçait la famille à la recherche de travail. Le Dr Zodhiates a connu le Christ pour la première fois grâce à son frère Argos, âgé de 11 ans, qui s'est mis à la pierre des évangélistes prêchant dans la communauté. Au lieu de cela, Argos a reçu Christ comme son Sauveur personnel après avoir entendu leur message. Quand il est rentré chez lui, la mère d'Argos a refusé de le laisser entrer à la maison en raison de sa nouvelle religion. Argos s'est agenouillé dehors et a prié pour sa mère toute la nuit. Le lendemain matin, la mère d'Argos est devenue chrétienne et le Dr Zodhiates a rapidement suivi.

En 1946, il est venu aux États-Unis à l'invitation du Comité américain pour l'évangélisation des Grecs, alors que l'organisation ne comptait que deux employés à temps partiel travaillant dans un bureau d'une pièce. Le Dr Zodhiates est devenu président de l'organisation en 1966. Au cours de ses six décennies de leadership, le Dr Zodhiates a fait preuve d'un profond engagement envers la Parole de Dieu et d'une attention particulière à accomplir fidèlement son appel. Son style était marqué par une saine gestion financière, de l'enthousiasme, du courage entrepreneurial et une générosité inattendue.

En plus d'avoir une éducation grecque, le Dr Zodhiates a étudié à l'Université américaine du Caire, en Égypte, au National Bible Institute et à l'Université de New York, et a obtenu son doctorat en théologie au Luther Rice Seminary. Il a également reçu plusieurs doctorats honorifiques. Il est une autorité reconnue sur le Nouveau Testament grec et la Bible d'étude des mots clés hébreu-grec, auteur de nombreux livres et brochures exégétiques en grec et en anglais. Pendant de nombreuses années, il a été entendu quotidiennement dans l'émission radiophonique «New Testament Light».

Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis

Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis est arrivé chez AMG International en 1989, en tant que directeur des technologies de l'information, assistant de l'ancien président Dr Spiros Zodhiates, vice-président exécutif et chef de l'exploitation avant de devenir président de l'organisation en 2013.

Lorsque Tasos avait 14 ans, ses parents ont déménagé à Chattanooga, TN, de Thessalonique, en Grèce, pour diriger la sensibilisation d'AMG International auprès des personnes de langue grecque aux États-Unis. Même aujourd'hui, ses parents sont toujours liés au ministère.

Tasos a beaucoup voyagé dans divers pays où AMG International exerce ses fonctions. Dans son rôle précédent au sein de l'équipe de direction d'AMG International, en étroite collaboration avec l'ancien président Paul Jenks et le conseil d'administration de l'organisation, il a contribué à façonner les stratégies et la direction d'AMG International.

Tasos est titulaire d'un baccalauréat de l'Université de Boston, d'une maîtrise en génie aéronautique du Massachusetts Institute of Technology et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires de l'Université du Tennessee à Chattanooga. Lui et sa femme, Margarita, ont deux enfants, Anna et Alexander. Margarita est doyenne de l'administration académique à la Silverdale Baptist Academy, et la famille fréquente la Silverdale Baptist Church.

 

 

Vue d'ensemble
AMG International

Notre approche, nos ministères, nos partenariats et les personnes que nous servons

 

Image de fond: Guatemala

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur Guatemala?

Où nous travaillons

Inspirer l'espoir, restaurer des vies et transformer les communautés du monde entier

La mission initiale d'AMG International était d'atteindre les Grecs en Amérique et à l'étranger. Depuis lors, nos ministères se sont développés pour servir les gens dans plus de 35 pays. Cliquez sur la carte pour en savoir plus sur notre travail dans une partie spécifique du monde.

EXPLORER LA CARTE

 

Image de fond: Indonésie

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur Indonésie?

Contactez-nous pour plus d'informations

Our Heritage

A Brief History of AMG International

In 1940, a photographer in New York City named George Georgakis came to know Jesus Christ as his personal Savior through the words of a street preacher. George immediately began sharing the Gospel with others, particularly his fellow Greeks. Together with his friend Nicholas Lambrides, he started the American Committee for the Evangelization of the Greek—later changed to American Mission to the Greeks, and now known as Advancing the Ministries of the Gospel (AMG) International—in 1942. The organization sent Gospel literature overseas and provided aid for undernourished and homeless children in Greece. In America, the organization sponsored Greek children in a nearby orphanage and produced a bilingual Gospel magazine in Greek and English.

Four years later, the organization was being run out of a one-room office in New York City when they invited Dr. Spiros Zodhiates to join their ministry. Dr. Zodhiates came on board as a field representative and editor of the magazine and became president in 1966 when Nicholas Lambrides died. In 1949, while distributing New Testaments on the island of Crete, Dr. Zodhiates had an experience that expanded the ministry of AMG International. A young, barefoot girl, clothed in rags, asked Dr. Zodhiates for bread to give to her dying mother and little brother. After that, AMG International changed its mission to include feeding the hungry, caring for destitute children and healing the sick, in addition to preaching the Gospel.

Over the years, the organization’s original mission of reaching the Greeks expanded to adopt a more global focus, hence the name change in 1974 to Advancing the Ministries of the Gospel International. By then, AMG International was ministering to people in India, Indonesia, Thailand and the Philippines, in addition to Greece. By 1999, AMG International’s ministry had extended to approximately 50 countries.

In 2005, Dr. Zodhiates retired, and Paul Jenks became president of AMG International after being CEO since 1996. In 2013, Paul and his wife, Lois, returned to the mission field, where Paul continues supporting AMG International in the role of Vice President of Asian Outreach.

Today, led by Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis, AMG International is looking for exciting new opportunities for Gospel-focused, life-changing ministry in the digital age. We seek to meet people at their point of greatest need, whether it be hunger, sickness or hopelessness. We desire to point them to Jesus as the only answer to life’s problems and the only hope for eternal life. To do so, we partner with Christians who share this passion and give them opportunities to share their treasure with those in physical and spiritual need.

Dr. Spiros Zodhiates

Spiros Zodhiates (1922-2009) was born to Greek parents on the island of Cyprus, and spent time in Egypt and Sudan as his father moved the family around in search of work. Dr. Zodhiates first came to know Christ through his 11-year-old brother, Argos, who set out to stone evangelists preaching in the community. Instead, Argos received Christ as his personal Savior after hearing their message. When he went home, Argos’ mom refused to let him in the house because of his new religion. Argos knelt outside and prayed for his mother all night. The next morning, Argos’ mom became a Christian, and Dr. Zodhiates soon followed.

In 1946, he came to the United States at the invitation of the American Committee for the Evangelization of the Greeks, when the organization was just two part-time employees working out of a one-room office. Dr. Zodhiates became president of the organization in 1966. During his six decades of leadership, Dr. Zodhiates demonstrated a profound commitment to God’s Word and a singular focus on faithfully accomplishing his calling. His style was marked by wise financial stewardship, enthusiasm, entrepreneurial courage and unexpected generosity.

In addition to having a Greek education, Dr. Zodhiates attended the American University in Cairo, Egypt, The National Bible Institute and New York University, and earned his Doctor of Theology degree from Luther Rice Seminary. He also has received several honorary doctorates. He is a recognized authority on the Greek New Testament and the Hebrew-Greek Key Word Study Bible, authoring numerous exegetical books and booklets in both Greek and English. For many years, he was heard daily on the “New Testament Light” radio program.

Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis

Anastasios (Tasos) Ioannidis came to AMG International in 1989, serving as Information Technologies Director, Assistant to former President Dr. Spiros Zodhiates, Executive Vice President, and Chief Operating Officer before becoming president of the organization in 2013.

When Tasos was 14, his parents moved to Chattanooga, TN, from Thessaloniki, Greece, to head AMG International’s outreach to Greek-speaking people in the United States. Even today, his parents are still connected to the ministry.

Tasos has traveled extensively to various countries where AMG International ministers. In his previous role as part of AMG International’s leadership team, working closely with former president Paul Jenks and the organization’s Board of Trustees, he helped to shape AMG International’s strategies and direction.

Tasos holds a bachelor’s degree from Boston University, a master’s degree in aeronautical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. He and his wife, Margarita, have two children, Anna and Alexander. Margarita serves as dean of academic administration at Silverdale Baptist Academy, and the family attends Silverdale Baptist Church.

 

 

Overview of
AMG International

Our approach, our ministries, our partnerships and the people we serve

 

Background image: Guatemala

Want to know more about Guatemala?

Where we work

Inspiring hope, restoring lives and transforming communities around the world

AMG International’s original mission was to reach the Greeks in America and abroad. Since then, our ministries have grown to serve people in over 35 countries. Click on the map to learn more about our work in a specific part of the world.

EXPLORE MAP

 

Background image: Indonesia

Want to know more about Indonesia?